Clarity

Published November 17, 2012 by Stacy

I have had an “ah ha” moment. I haven’t been regularly attending church for quite a while now. If asked I couldn’t really give you a specific reason why I haven’t been going. I just haven’t gone. But my “ah ha” came at 1st Wednesday service a couple of weeks ago. I haven’t been going because I don’t know who I am, where I fit within the body of Christ.

See at 18 years old I started dating my now ex-husband. He was very well known in the church we attended so I instantly became known as “Steve’s girlfriend.” Then when he went into full time ministry I was known as the music guy’s wife. For most of my adult life I have never been just me.

Yes it has been 3 years since we separated but I think I have been so involved in making sure that my kids are ok that I have not taken the time to figure out who I am, where I belong.

I love my church and the people that are part of my church family. Now it is time for me to find my place to be me.

Leave a Reply

