Umm…well

Published October 3, 2008 by Stacy

So I was thinking that it had probably been a few days since I lasted posted and when I logged in to write tonight I was surprised to see that it was getting close to a month since my last post. Sorry to those few that do read my blog on a regular basis.

So anyway hubby and I both have jobs. That is a HUGE praise for us. I have actually worked two days as a temporary receptionist for our local NBA team (if you know where I live I think you can figure out which team). It was fun to work there. All of the people were really nice. No, I did not see any players. I did see some of the dancers for the team yesterday. I start my long term assignment tomorrow. Hubby starts his job on Monday. He will be working 10-7 so he will still be able to get the kids off to school each day. So God is good even when it seems as if things are not on the right track.

We have really enjoyed getting to know people at our new church. I helped with MOPS a couple of weeks ago. For most of the time I was watching the two babies that were there. One of the babies was our pastor’s granddaughter. She is so very sweet and fun to watch as she explores the world. We have been enjoying our Life Group (Sunday School for you old school people…lol). We had an impromptu fellowship this past Sunday night at one couple’s house. There was lots of gaming going on in the house, with a Playstation going upstsirs, XBOX in the living room and Wii in the family room. The husbands were playing Madden ’09 on the XBOX and let me tell you they were louder than the kids at some points…lol. Hubby and I are both attending a Bible Study on Sunday evenings. I am doing Beth Moore’s Stepping Up. It is a study of the Psalms of Ascent. Really good study so far. Hubby is doing a study by Tony Dungy that I can never remember the name of.

Now that we have jobs we have really started to look around at housing options. We knew that there were several houses for rent in the neighborhood next to the kid’s school. But today hubby and I stopped in at the brand new apartment complex across the street from the school. WOW!! Is all that I can say. We feel pretty sure that this is where we will go. For what you get in amenities the price is well worth it. There is a fitness center, spa, tanning bed, kids corner and business center in the clubhouse. Also they have a huge pool, a playground, a dog park (how many people can say they have a dog park???), a nature trail and an outdoor kitchen by the pool that you can rent for parties. That is all what is available on the outside. In the units they have Whirlpool appliances including a microwave over the smooth top range. The washer and dryer is included. They also have intrusion alarms and lots of closets. And the one we are looking at is 1737 sq ft. That is huge for an apartment. Yes, we could get a house that size for the same price but then we would have to take care of the yard and buy a new washer and dryer. So I think we are going to go the apartment route. We are praying about it of course.
My grandmother had her hip replaced last week. She is doing much better than the doctors thought she would. She probably will not have to stay in rehab for as long as they thought. That is a good thing. I am so glad that she is doing so well.

Well we are going out of town for two nights. After I get off work tomorrow (I love saying that) we are driving down to my best friend’s house. We will be celebrating her son’s birthday. It will be nice to get away for a few days. And I always enjoy spending time with my best friend.

Well as I am typing, the Vice Presidential debate is on. I guess I should watch at least a little of it. I can hear my brother giving his commentary from my room.

So for now I shall say good night!

3 comments on “Umm…well

  • Hi! Glad to see you’re ‘back’.

    Congrats on getting the jobs. Hope they are enjoyable jobs most of the time.

    And that apartment sounds huge, plus the amenities sound fantastic. Good luck with whatever you decide.

    My grandfather-in-law had his 2nd hip replacement three weeks ago. He’s doing really well too.

  • Leave a Reply

