Tagged

Published July 6, 2008 by Stacy

Ok so a few days ago I was tagged by my friend over here at Our Aussie Half-dozen to do this Biblical Meme that was started on this blog.

A Biblical Meme

Here are the rules:
1. Choose a person in the Bible who most represents who you are.
2. Post it on your blog and include a visual illustration, scripture or bible story if you like
3. Link to the person that tagged you in your post and to this original post if possible so we can track it as it travels across the blogosphere.
4 .Tag five more blogs with links.
5. And don’t forget to leave a comment on the tagged blogs with an invitation to play!
ps If you are not a religious person, please feel free to use classic literature instead.

So I have been mulling this over for the past few and really trying to think about who I identify myself with. At different times in my walk with God I think I connect with different people for different reasons. As most of you know my husband is a minister. And being a minister’s wife brings a lot of challenges when you are dealing with so many different personalities within a church body. So at times I really identify with Naomi, from the book of Ruth. I never would have connected myself with her until I heard Beth Moore speak a few years ago at a conference that I attended. At that conference Beth pointed out that when Naomi returned to her homeland without her husband, she told the people to, “call me Mara, for the Almighty has made me very bitter.” Ruth 1:20

When things get tough for my husband at work it is very easy for me to become bitter and angry. I don’t ever doubt God’s calling on our lives but I get so frustrated when people that call themselves Christians don’t behave in a way that honors God.

So I really try hard not to be bitter and not to focus on people but to focus on God. So more often than not I identify with Martha. I long to spend time just sitting at the feet of Jesus and soaking up what he has to teach me like Mary did. However the busyness of being a wife, mother of three kids and all the other things that life brings along get in the way and take my focus off the thing that should be the most important thing in my life, my relationship with God.

So now for who I am going to tag…

Steve, Rachel, Sunny, Jennifer, and Chaz

I hope they will play along.

2 comments on “Tagged

  • I am glad you could play along. It was something to get us all thinking! I liked your choices – I also feel like Martha much of the time, and I went through a phase of being very bitter with what God dealt out to me too so I can identify with Naomi too.

  • I loved your answer! I am really glad you played along and even happier that i started this one. It is really giving me a chance to see the real people who i blog with and I am loving finding the depths of everyone’s souls.
    Many blessings.
    Debi

  • Leave a Reply

