I choose love

Published June 10, 2008 by Stacy

This being my first time to attend the annual Southern Baptist Convention (SBC) I really was not sure what to expect. To be perfectly honest I did not have my hopes set too high. I have been surprised and moved by the Spirit and the week has only begun.

This morning I went to the Pastors’ Wives Session of the conference. Donna Gaines was our guest speaker. She shared a lot about digging deeper in the Word and being in tune with the voice of God. But I think for me the single most important thing I needed to hear today was when something happens to offend me, I need to choose to not be offended. I need to choose love.

Let that sink in for a minute. That is a big one for me. My last post was out of something that happened that hurt me the other day. And as Steve has been in ministry over the past 10 years we have been through a lot of hurts, people seeking their own agendas instead of seeking the Lord. But Donna said today that when you choose love and you choose the Lord, then you are choosing to, “Rest in God alone, my soul, for my hope comes, from Him.” Psalm 62:5

We are also given this promise, “The Lord your God is among you, a warrior who saves. He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will bring you quietness with His love, He will delight in you with shouts of joy.” Zeph 3:17 What jumps out at me is He will give me quietness with His love. So when I feel that I should be offended or upset by something someone has done or said, I will cling to the promise that by His love I will find quiet rest.

Even when I see people outside shouting words of hate, I choose love because that is what Jesus told us to do.

Leave a Reply

