Admitting you are wrong

Published May 31, 2008 by Stacy

Are you the type of person that has a hard time admitting when you are wrong? Do you hate to even say those words out loud? “I am wrong” I will admit that I have a really hard time admitting when I am wrong about something. Steve says that 95% of the time I will not admit that I am wrong. Now I am not sure that is an accurate number..lol but I will admit that he is right. I know that this is one of my traits that frustrates my dear husband. A funny thing was happening the past couple of days, I read several blogs on a daily basis and comment from time to time on what I read. Well for the past couple of days whenever I would go to leave a comment, I would go through the whole process of typing my comment and then putting in my identifying info so the blogger would know who was leaving the comment. Then I would hit the submit button and after a moment I would get this screen that would say, “We are sorry but you must be logged in to WordPress before you can leave a comment.” So I check to see if I am logged in, I am. Try again. Same thing. Give up. Try again on a different blog the next day. Get the same results. Yell at the computer (because you know that always helps), “I AM LOGGED IN TO WORDPRESS!!!” Give up again.

After a few days of this I finally go to WordPress tech support and send them an email detailing my problem. Then later that same day I try to leave a comment again and as I am doing so I notice one little thing, the user id I was typing in was off by ONE letter. Hmmmm, you think that is the reason I was getting the error message????

So as much as I don’t like to admit when I am wrong this is something that I am working on. God tells us to love one another and to be at peace with one another. If I can’t admit that I am wrong then I am sure there will come a time when I will not be at peace with someone and I don’t want that. More importantly God does not want that for me. In Matthew 22:37-39 Jesus said, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all you mind. This is the greatest and most important commandment. The second is like it: Love you neighbor as yourself.” (HCSB) This is one of the principles of Christ that I daily try to live my life by. If I love God with all that I have in me, then it should not be so hard to put aside my pride and admit when I am wrong. Easy words to type on a screen, but sometimes oh so hard to put into practice.

Leave a Reply

