I wonder why

Published May 8, 2008 by Stacy

There are some things that I just wonder why. Like I wonder why every year at this time, no matter what church I have been in, the leadership is more often than not begging for teachers for VBS. Why is this? This is a program that every church member knows is going to come around and yet every year leadership has to practically get on their knees and beg for workers to fill the slots to be able to run the program. I love VBS and can’t wait for it to come around every year so I am usually chomping at the but to get my name on the list of workers. I just wonder why we as church members expect these programs to happen but then don’t volunteer to make them happen. VBS is just one example, there are many more. the same thing happens when it comes time for Sunday School promotion and a teacher or two takes time off from teaching.

Tuesday I finished up my first year of Community Bible Study. This was my first experience with this organization. Everyone involved is a believer. Denomination is put aside, church membership does not matter. I started the year a little skeptical because, one we live in a small town and two I am a minister’s wife and very rarely do I ever just get to be me. Well on Tuesday we had our Share day where after having a time of food and fellowship around the table, you had the opportunity to share with the group how the Lord worked in your life. I did not share with the group but I have been thinking about it non-stop since Tuesday. I really enjoyed getting to know the ladies in my core group. And God used those ladies to encourage me when I walking through a really dark time. I got notes the mail from a couple of the ladies just at the moment when I thought that I could not go any further. That was God. No one knew what I was going through but God and yet He used those ladies to encourage me. We studied Revelation this year and I learned some about what God has waiting for us heaven. But I also learned that I can just be me, not the minister’s wife, not Bean, Bug and Buddy’s mom, just me, fearfully and wonderfully made by my Creator. For that I am so thankful. I will miss meeting with my core group over the summer. But I look forward to next year’s study of Roman’s. I also look forward to getting to know another group of ladies and getting to be me all over again.

3 comments on “I wonder why

  • Leave a Reply

