My Mission Field Pt 2

Published April 7, 2008 by Stacy

First if you look at the dates of my posts it looks like it did not post on April 5th but I did, really I did. I am not sure but for some reason my post was saved as a draft and not actually published, which I did not notice until the 6th. Anyway moving on. Our weekend was wonderful and refreshing. We missed the kids but even they had a nice time staying with our friend from church (Thanks again!!! You are a treasure!!). Since Steve was officially on vacation yesterday we had the chance to worship at another church last night. God used the speaker at that church to confirm for me some things that He has been laying on my heart.

The speaker last night posed the question, “Why should children by our (the church, universal) priority?”

1. Jesus was passionate about bringing kids to Him.

In Mark 10:13-16 Jesus rebuked the disciples for trying to keep the children away from Him. He wanted the children to have access to Him. He got angry with the disciples when they tried to keep the kids away.

2. History warns us about it.

In Deuteronomy 11:18-21 the Israelites were told to teach their children about God in all aspects of their daily life. The consequences of them not doing are seen in the book of Judges. The nation would repent and have a few years of prosperity and then would do evil in the eyes of the Lord and the cycle would repeat itself.

3. Wisdom cries out for it.

The harvest is ready but we don’t get to decide what the harvest looks like. It takes each one of us giving of our time, treasure and talent.

I feel like God has been telling me that He wants me to put my talents into working with young people. I feel like today’s young people are looking for adults to build real relationships with them. To be willing to admit that they don’t have all the answers but do know where to look to find them. Kids today need to see adults feeding the hungry and loving the unlovable not just preaching about it. Jesus gave us the example to follow. He did not stay inside the walls of the temple and wait for the people to come to Him. He walked among the people. He took the time to touch, to listen and to minister where He was needed.

I am willing to follow the calling that God has placed on my life.

Are you willing to listen and follow when God calls you?

2 comments on “My Mission Field Pt 2

  • I Love this post.

    Like Steve says “go for it” We need people with our kids. Now, I’m not one to be in kids/youth ministry, but I crave small groups. I cannot get enough.
    But I have to step back once in awhile like this morning with my coffee here reading your post, What is my calling?

    One of my biggest callings is: To be a Christ follower in EVERYTHING that I do. yes, including laundry and making spaghetti for my son. It’s every day job and then when I do small groups during the week, I can be a true example.

    Awesome post!!!

  • Leave a Reply

