Holy Week

Published March 17, 2008 by Stacy

It did not occur to me until late last night after we got home from choir practice and I was checking email and reading blogs and such that yesterday was Palm Sunday. Not one mention was made of Palm Sunday in Sunday school, morning worship or evening worship. We had really good messages from a guest speaker in the morning and from our associate pastor in the evening but neither one of them mentioned the fact that it was the beginning of the end for the man that laid down His life for us. This really made me kind of sad. I know each church has its own way of doing things but it does make you appreciate something when you no longer have it. At our last church Holy Week was a big deal. It started on Palm Sunday with remembering that Jesus made the triumphal entrance into the Holy city, with the people shouting, “Hosanna!” Then we shared the Lord’s Supper together at a Maundy Thursday service. So as the saying goes you don’t know what you have until its gone applies here. This is not really what I wanted to post about today.

While there was no mention made of Palm Sunday there were some really straight from God things said and right from when I was sitting in Sunday school could feel a blog coming on. In our Sunday school class we are trying to show God’s love to a family that needs to see it. We as a class committed to taking dinners to this family just as a way to show love to them as they adjust to having a new baby in the family. Well not ever having been on the receiving end of this kind of unconditional love they have been a little hesitant about taking our gifts as they see it as more of a hand out. We talked as a class that we still need to just love on them and show them that we don’t want anything from them that we just want to love them because that is who we are as Christians. Then we go over for our worship time and our guest speaker shares this verse with us, 1 John 3:17-18, “If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him? Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.”

This really hit home with me. Then he went on to say Jesus did three things that ministered to people that we should put into practice.

1. Jesus listened. Think Zacchaeus, the Samaritan woman and the woman caught in adultery.

2. Jesus touched. Think the man with leprosy, the dead girl brought back to life.

3. Jesus showed up. John 1:1, 14 Jesus became flesh

If we take the time to listen, touch and show up how much more of an impact could we make on the world around us?

Then last night Bro. Jeremy asked one question that really stuck with me. If you died tonight do you worship God enough that He would miss your worship?

Ok I will leave you with the words from a song we were working on in choir last night.

This Is Love

Nail pierced hands, a wounded side,
this is love, this is love.
The holy heart was sacrificed,
this is love, this is love.

I bow down to the Holy One,
I bow down to the Lamb,
I bow down to the Worthy One,
I bow down to the Lamb.

The Son of God, He died for us,
this is love, this is love.
He walked the hill, He bore the cross,
this is love, this is love.

I bow down to the Holy One,
I bow down to the Lamb,
I bow down to the Worthy One,
I bow down to the Lamb.

I pray you have a blessed week.

3 comments on “Holy Week

  • It also struck me on Monday morning that no mention had been made of Palm Sunday. I realised I was rushing into the ‘busyness’ of this holy week (school activities and plans for the long weekend) without reflecting on the significance of it.

  • I’m so thankful to be married to someone who is so mindful of really doing what we can to show Christ’s love to everyone. I pray that everyone who reads this blog will become more mindful and reflective of just what it is that Christ did for us on the cross. That was love far beyond any other love that has ever been experienced!

  • Leave a Reply

