Thou, Oh Lord

Published March 5, 2008 by Stacy

We have been working on a song in choir for a few weeks now. I think after this past Sunday night’s practice the song is close to being ready to present to the congregation. Ever since practice Sunday night I have not been able to get the words of the song out of my head. I felt that I should share them with you.

Thou, Oh Lord

Many are they increased that trouble me, many are they that rise up against me.
Many there be which say of my soul, “There is no help for him in God.”

But Thou, oh Lord, are a shield for me, my glory and the lifter of my head.
Thou, oh Lord, are a shield for me, my glory and the lifter of my head.

I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and He heard me out of His holy ear.
I laid me down a slept and awakened, for the Lord sustained, the Lord sustained me.

For Thou, oh Lord, are a shield for me, my glory and the lifter of my head.
Thou, oh Lord, are a shield for me, my glory and the lifter of my head.

Now I have been walking through a time when many would say to me, “Why are you going through this? Why do you choose to keep walking along this path?” It is because the Lord is my shield and has never left my side. I have taken comfort in my God during the times when I thought I could not go on. While I would not willingly walk through a tough time, I am thankful for the lessons that I learned. God has shown me His glory. He has shown me that I can, with His strength handle way more than I ever thought I could.

I pray that I never forget the things that I have learned about myself and about God over the last few months. I pray that if you are in the midst of walking down a hard road that you are looking to God for strength.

Thank you Lord, for being a shield for me.

Leave a Reply

