Why?

Published January 18, 2008 by Stacy

I don’t really have anything to say about the issues that I have been dealing with except to say God is good and bigger than anything that happens in this world we live in. I am blessed to know that even though my spirit is troubled, I have a soft place to rest my weary soul. God has given me peace in that.

The why at the top of my post has to do with this. Why is it that the people that call themselves Christians treat other Christians so horribly? It is really bothering me that as a follower if Christ we are called to LOVE one another, to put others before our own selves. But what is the church(eta as a whole, not one specific church) full of? People that are so SELF centered that showing love to someone is the last thing they ever do. The men that are called to lead our churches are some of the most mistreated people on this earth. The minute that a pastor does one little thing that someone thinks is different or not in line with their way of thinking they accuse the pastor of all kinds of things. In seven years that I have been a pastor’s wife I have seen so much hate and anger directed at the men that have been called to lead. This grieves my heart greatly that people that are given the mandate to LOVE do the complete opposite. It is no wonder that there are so many non-Christians that will never set foot in the door of a church because they have witnessed how mean and hurtful Christians are to one another. It is often said that they will know we are Christians by our LOVE but way more often than not they know we are hypocrites buy the way we treat our pastors and other leaders in the church.

I pray that I will be known for my love and not for being a hypocrite. My deepest desire is that the lost will come to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. And if I am being seen by the lost as someone that says I love like Jesus loved but don’t live my life that way then I am leading people further away from God, not toward Him.

One comment on “Why?

  • Leave a Reply

