What is God doing?

Published September 20, 2007 by Stacy

I ask this question often it seems as I go through my life. What is God doing when He sees fit to move us first ten hours away from our family and then 21 hours away? He was teaching me something. He was teaching me to lean on Him. There have been a lot of ups and downs over the last four years since we moved away from all that was familiar and comfortable in Florida. But the most constant and comfortable thing for me in all of these moves has been that I know that God has had His hand in all of it.

Yesterday in the opening time of the weekly Bible Study I attend a new friend of mine shared her testimony of how she came to work with the middle school aged kids at church. Her journey took her through working with youth and college age students before she ended up where she feels the Lord really wants her to be. Well tonight I told her I felt like I was living her life. You see I have always wanted to be a teacher but I have always said that I would never be able to work with any kids older than 3rd or 4th grade. And as I have served in church I have always worked with the younger crowd doing nursery, children’s church, Cubbies, which is 4 & 5 year olds… well you get my point.

Fast forward to our move here to TN. As with any move to a new church the first thing I have to do once I get settled in is figure out where I am going to serve in this particular church.
I spent the first few months just waiting and watching. In July, the kids and I went to FL on vacation. The Sunday we got back Bro. Jeremy made an announcement that they needed a cheer coach for one of the 4th-6th grade squads for our new Upward ministry that was starting in just a week. After service I told Jeremy that I would coach the squad. WHAT??? I had no intention coaching cheerleaders, much less 4th-6th graders. I have never been a cheerleader or anything closely related to a cheerleader. Yet here I am three weeks into the football season having a blast with these girls. So then Steve starts talking about starting a student choir. He has a parent meeting and there is interest so it is a go. But he needs someone to help him, crowd control, another adult in the room, that kind of thing. I tell him I will help him. Ok, God, what are you doing?

I don’t know if God is trying to tell me that He wants me to work with this age group or not but I can tell you that I am really enjoying it a lot more than I ever thought I would. The first practice with the student choir ( to have a new name next week picked by the choir) went very well. I think I am in for the time of my life.

So what is God doing in your life?

One comment on “What is God doing?

  • Leave a Reply

