Remembering

Published September 15, 2007 by Stacy

This week was about remembering for a lot of people. On message boards and blogs everywhere people were remembering where they were on 9-11-01. That was a horrible day on the history of our country. It changed the way many things are done. It made us more suspicious of those that we don’t know. I know exactly where I was when the planes hit the Twin Towers. I was glued to the TV just like the rest of the country trying to figure just exactly was going on.

But for me 9-12-01 was a more devastating day than the day before. See, while what happened on 9-11 was tragic, it happened to other people. I did not lose anyone that I loved, or even anyone that remotely knew. But on 9-12-01 just as I was getting ready to leave for church I got a phone call from a friend. She told me that Craig Stamper, the minister that married Steve and I had been killed in a car accident while traveling to North Carolina. Craig not only married Steve and I but he was also a great mentor to Steve as began his working in full time ministry. Craig was always someone that you could count one to have a kind word. He was a great encourager. Craig loved God and he wanted others around him to know about that God.

A few weeks after Craig died, we learned that we were going to have another baby. Steve and I immediately felt that if we had a son it would be a fitting tribute to name him after Craig. Craig’s full name was Steven Craig so we decided that is what we would name our son. We also decided that we would call our son Craig. Our son is now 5 years old. He is such a joy and a blessing to our family. His dimples never fail to put a smile on my face. He loves people and is quick to give hugs to those around him. He is like his dad, he has never met a stranger.

So while this time of year does bring about sadness all I have to do look at my son and the sadness goes away.

Thank you God, for the gift of our son.

Leave a Reply

